Just a few more…..

I’m particularly fond of this photo, taken at about 8pm on Thursday night as things had just started to come together…

Our flowers came from Lild and Tesco, arranged by Valerie, Mary and Kate in jam jars that family and friends had been keeping for us for the past 12 months.

Another flower shot but also one of the Pod tables which were fantastic, people were able to gather around these for the drinks reception.  As usual we resisted the easy option and DIY’d it.  The company we hired the tables and the cloths from usually tie Organza ribbon around the cloth to keep it in neatly however I hate organza ribbon, it’s just so boring bridal. We used some leftover fabric from the table runners and giant wooden buttons, my Mom sewed the buttons through the table cloths (don’t tell Caterhire!).  They also hire out those mirrored candle plates and these god awful gem stones that you can sprinkle around the top of the table!!  Like Frank, I did it my way and bought mirrored candle plates in Atlantic Homecare for about €5 each and sprinkled colourful buttons on them.  Our candles and candle holders came from Ikea, we bought tonnes of them and put them running down the centre of the tables also.

Here’s a more detailed picture of the candle plates and our menus.

Place settting with handmade place cards, I used a button stamp and some green ink, also you can see the handmade napkin rings that I spent weeks making.  The yellow table runners were sewed by my mother, she spent ages on these, they were ironed to perfection.

The Pig!

And, if you didn’t want the pig…we had limited availability on the veggie option so I made this sign, displayed it in these fantastic props from Made in Hollywood. We used these as our centre pieces for the main tables as well, they held the album covers which served instead of table numbers.

My something old was the vintage earrings I bought from Etsy, my something new was my shoes, my something borrowed was the brooch on my handbag, borrowed from my Mom and my something blue was a button.

Everyone said I wouldn’t be able to drink at my wedding…..they were soooo wrong, that’s my Dad in the background by the way.

This entry was posted in The Non-Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just a few more…..

  1. Grannymar says:

    Jam jars – how inventive. All it needs is imagination for a unique wedding and you certainly had that.

  2. steph says:

    Wow! I’m well-impressed by the detail and the time spent on your wedding preparations.

    It really is the little things that count.

    Congrats on a job very well done!

Leave a comment